Encrypting Your SafeBolt Cloud Files on the Server

SafeBolt Cloud includes a server side Encryption app, and when it is enabled by your SafeBolt Cloud administrator all of your SafeBolt Cloud data files are automatically encrypted on the server. Encryption is server-wide, so when it is enabled you cannot choose to keep your files unencrypted. You don’t have to do anything special, as it uses your SafeBolt Cloud login as the password for your unique private encryption key. Just log in and out and manage and share your files as you normally do, and you can still change your password whenever you want.

Its main purpose is to encrypt files on remote storage services that are connected to your SafeBolt Cloud server, such as Dropbox and Google Drive. This is an easy and seamless way to protect your files on remote storage. You can share your remote files through SafeBolt Cloud in the usual way, however you cannot share your encrypted files directly from Dropbox, Google Drive, or whatever remote service you are using, because the encryption keys are stored on your SafeBolt Cloud server, and are never exposed to outside service providers.

If your SafeBolt Cloud server is not connected to any remote storage services, then it is better to use some other form of encryption such as file-level or whole disk encryption. Because the keys are kept on your SafeBolt Cloud server, it is possible for your SafeBolt Cloud admin to snoop in your files, and if the server is compromised the intruder may get access to your files. 

Using encryption: SafeBolt Cloud encryption is pretty much set it and forget it, but you have a few options you can use.

When your SafeBolt Cloud admin enables encryption for the first time, you must log out and then log back in to create your encryption keys and encrypt your files. When encryption has been enabled on your SafeBolt Cloud server you will see a yellow banner on your Files page warning you to log out and then log back in.

../_images/encryption1.png

When you log back in it takes a few minutes to work, depending on how many files you have, and then you are returned to your default SafeBolt Cloud page.

../_images/encryption2.png

Sharing encrypted files: Only users who have private encryption keys have access to shared encrypted files and folders. Users who have not yet created their private encryption keys will not have access to encrypted shared files; they will see folders and filenames, but will not be able to open or download the files. They will see a yellow warning banner that says “Encryption App is enabled but your keys are not initialized, please log-out and log-in again.”

Share owners may need to re-share files after encryption is enabled; users trying to access the share will see a message advising them to ask the share owner to re-share the file with them. For individual shares, un-share and re-share the file. For group shares, share with any individuals who can’t access the share. This updates the encryption, and then the share owner can remove the individual shares.

Recovery key password: If your SafeBolt Cloud administrator has enabled the recovery key feature, you can choose to use this feature for your account. If you enable “Password recovery” the administrator can read your data with a special password. This feature enables the administrator to recover your files in the event you lose your SafeBolt Cloud password. If the recovery key is not enabled, then there is no way to restore your files if you lose your login password.

../_images/encryption3.png

Files not encrypted: Only the data in your files is encrypted, and not the filenames or folder structures. These files are never encrypted:

  • Old files in the trash bin.
  • Image thumbnails from the Gallery app.
  • Previews from the Files app.
  • The search index from the full text search app.
  • Third-party app data

There may be other files that are not encrypted; only files that are exposed to third-party storage providers are guaranteed to be encrypted.

Change private key password: This option is only available if your log-in password, but not your encryption password, was changed by your administrator. This can occur if your SafeBolt Cloud provider uses an external user back-end (for example, LDAP) and changed your login password using that back-end configuration. In this case, you can set your encryption password to your new login password by providing your old and new login password. The Encryption app works only if your login password and your encryption password are identical.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us